Academy of Medical Sciences Fellows Announced 2018

Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 09:00

48 of the UK’s world leading researchers have been elected to join the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences

The new Fellows have been elected for their outstanding contributions to biomedical and health science, leading research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and the wider society.

This year's elected Fellows have expertise that spans sleep research, infectious and tropical diseases, diabetes medicine, parasite biology and ultrasound research and technology among many other fields.


In particular congratulations to the fellows elected from Oxford

  • Professor Eleanor Barnes, Professor of Hepatology and Experimental Medicine, University of Oxford
  • Professor David Beeson, Professor in Molecular Neuroscience, University of Oxford
  • Professor Susan Jebb OBE, Professor of Diet and Population Health, University of Oxford
  • Professor Robert MacLaren, Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Jordan Raff, César Milstein Professor of Cancer Cell Biology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Guy Thwaites, Professor of Infectious Diseases, University of Oxford and Director, Oxford University Clinical Research Unit, Wellcome Trust Major Overseas Research Program in Vietnam
  • Professor Mark Woodward, Professor of Epidemiology and Statistics, University of Oxford


Click here for the full list

Share this article