Biosymposium 2013: Biodiversity Resilience


Biodiversity Institute, Department of Zoology, South Parks Road, University of Oxford, OX1 3PS

The annual Biodiversity Institute Symposium this year will tackle the subject of Biodiversity Resilience. Factors leading to the loss of resilience in social-ecological systems are the focus many excellent on-going research programmes and symposia. However, this two-day symposium aims to highlight the other side of the resilience research agenda – namely factors that promote and lead to resilience of biodiversity. The symposium will showcase ongoing research that examines the biotic and abiotic processes and mechanisms responsible for biodiversity resilience (ranging from genomics to landscape-scale), through to policies and management that ensure resilience of biodiversity now and in the future. Invited speakers will be addressing the following topics and questions:

  • How do we create a resilient arctic ecosystem?
  • How does genomic biodiversity lead to resilience?
  • What is the role of biodiversity in functional resilience of ecosystems?
  • Resilience in the Oceans
  • Policy Trade-offs for Biodiversity Resilience
  • What can long-term records of population and community dynamics tell us about the stability and resilience of biodiversity and ecosystems?
  • Rapid plastic and evolutionary responses to environmental change: from processes to general patterns?
  • Landscape Resilience and Biodiversity in arid environment
  • Governing for resilience

Confirmed speakers:

  • Tim Benton (UK Champion for Global Food Security, University of Leeds)
  • Niels Blaum (University of Potsdam)
  • Christian Brochmann  (University of Oslo)
  • Rachel Cavanagh (British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge)
  • Neil Davies (UC Berkeley)
  • Andy Dougill (University of Leeds)
  • Ehsan Dulloo (Bioversity International, Rome)
  • Jon Ekstrom (The Biodiversity Consultancy)
  • Dawn Field (NERC Centre for Ecology & Hydrology)
  • Jean-Michel Gaillard (UCB Lyon)
  • Ruth Gates (University of Hawaii)
  • Sue Hartley (University of York)
  • Andy Hector (ETH Zurich/University of Oxford)
  • Bob Holt (University of Florida)
  • Robert May (University of Oxford)
  • Angus Middleton (European Associations for Hunting & Conservation)
  • Sue Moore (NOAA/Fisheries Office of Science & Technology, Seattle)
  • Shahid Naeem (Columbia University)
  • Johan Olofsson (Umeå University)
  • Jennifer Rowntree (University of Manchester)
  • Isabel Smallegange (University of Oxford)
  • Ben Sheldon (University of Oxford)
  • David Smith (University of Essex)
  • Graham Stone (Institute of Evolutionary Biology, Edinburgh)
  • Klement Tockner Leibniz Institute for Freshwater Ecology)
  • Guy Woodward (Imperial College London)

Poster Session

There will be formal poster sessions during the event. Please consider presenting a poster when you register.

Further information about the symposium will be posted on the programme page as it develops. Please register online here.

If you have any questions and further information about the symposium, please contact us.