Advisory Group

The Director of the Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Food is advised by a distinguished Advisory Group of people with expertise or experience relevant to the food system and food-related research, both nationally and internationally.

This Group gives guidance on the direction for research and funding for the Programme.

Chair of the Advisory Group:

Members of the Advisory Board:

Chair of the Advisory Group

Professor Lord (John) Krebs FRS
Emeritus Professor of Zoology, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford

Lord Krebs is a cross-bencher in the House of Lords and the Chairman of the House of Lords Science and Technology Select Committee. In 2007, he chaired a working party of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics to produce a report on the Ethics of Public Health. He is a Trustee of the Nuffield Foundation and Chairman of the UK Science and Technology Honours Committee. He sits on the UK Climate Change Committee and chairs its Adaptation Sub-Committee.

John Krebs was the first chairman of the UK Food Standards Agency from 2000 to 2005 and has a strong interest in all aspects of food policy.

Members of the Advisory Board

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
MP for Leeds Central and Chair of the Exiting the European Union Select Committee

Hilary Benn is MP for Leeds Central and the Chair of the Exiting the European Union Select Committee.

Previously, he served as Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, International Development Secretary, as a Minister in the Home Office, as Secretary of State at the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and as the Shadow Leader of the House of Commons.

Iain Ferguson
Chairman, Wilton Park

Iain Ferguson is the Chairman of Wilton Park. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Greggs PLC, Balfour Beatty PLC, and Berendsen PLC.

He is the lead Non-Executive Board Member of DEFRA’s Supervisory Board.

From May 2003 until recently, Iain was Chief Executive of Tate & Lyle PLC, a major international manufacturer of food and beverage ingredients. He is Past President of the Food & Drink Federation, and Past President of the Institute of Grocery Distribution. He is also Honorary Vice President of the British Nutrition Foundation.

Professor Susan Jebb OBE
Professor of Diet and Population Health, University of Oxford

Susan Jebb is a nutrition scientist whose research interests are focused on how what we eat affects the risk of gaining weight or becoming obese and the interventions that might be effective to help people lose weight or reduce the risk of obesity-related diseases.

She has strong scientific collaborations with the Behaviour and Health Research unit at the University of Cambridge and the MRC Human Nutrition Research unit, where she was a Programme Leader for many years.

She was the science advisor for the Foresight obesity report and subsequently chaired the cross-government Expert Advisory Group on obesity from 2007-11.

She is now a member of the Public Health England Obesity Programme Board. She also Chairs the DH Public Health Responsibility Deal Food Network, developing voluntary agreements with industry to improve the food environment. She is one of the Chairs of the NICE Public Health Advisory Committees. She is actively involved in a number of events and media projects to engage the public in issues relating to diet and health.  In 2008 she was awarded an OBE for services to public health.

Susan is a Trustee and former Chair of the Association for the Study of Obesity.

Dr David Lawrence
Board Member, Syngenta and Chairman of the Science & Technology Advisory Board

David Lawrence was Head of Research & Development at Syngenta from September 1, 2002 until the end of September, 2008. Prior to this, David Lawrence was Head of Research & Technology Projects (2000–2002) for Syngenta and before that Head of International R&D Projects for Zeneca Agrochemicals. He was a member of the UK Foresight Lead Expert Group on the Future of Food and Farming.

Currently he is a member of the UK Industrial Biotechnology Leadership Team and the BBSRC Council, for whom he chairs the Industrial Biotechnology & Bioenergy Panel. He is also a Board member for Rothamsted Research and is Chairman of the UK Biosciences Knowledge Transfer Network for which had previously chaired the Industrial Biotechnology Group.

Lord (John) Selborne FRS

Lord Selborne is a conservative peer with extensive interests in science and agriculture (with particular expertise in fruit farming).  He was chairman of the Agricultural and Food Research Council (AFRC) from 1982-89 and of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC) from 1991-97.

He was also a member of the NEDC Food Sector Group in 1991-92 and a member of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution 1993 to 1998. From 1994-95, he was director of the Lloyds Bank Plc and between 1995 and 2004 of Lloyds TSB Group Plc.

Lord Selborne was President of the Royal Agricultural Society of England from 1987-88, of the Royal Institute of Public Health and Hygiene from 1991 to 1997 and of the Royal Geographical Society from 1997-2000.

Between 2003-09 he was chairman of the trustees of the Royal Botanic Gardens in Kew. Lord Selborne was appointed Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire (KBE) in 1987 and Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire (GBE) in the 2011 New Year Honours for services to science.

Dr Camilla Toulmin
Senior Fellow and Former Director, International Institute for Environment and Development

Camilla Toulmin is an economist with particular expertise in environment and development policies, and a focus on building alliances with those in the frontline of sustainable development, and land rights in Africa.

She was Director of the International Institute for Environment and Development from 2004 to 2015 and was a member of the UK Foresight Lead Expert Group on the Future of Food and Farming.